Last updated: October 14, 2026 · Prices checked on each vendor’s own site on October 14, 2026
Most auto repair shop management software costs $199 a month or more for a single shop in 2026. Of 13 tools that publish a month-to-month price, the middle (median) entry price is $199, and five of them start at exactly $199. The cheapest published options are older installed programs and single-user plans; the big cloud platforms run $199–$399 a month before add-ons.
Every price below was read on the vendor’s own website on October 14, 2026, in US dollars, for one shop, billed monthly unless marked otherwise. Where a vendor doesn’t publish a price, we say so instead of guessing. We make NextCarHub, a $49/month scheduling tool, so it’s listed too — but it is not a full shop management system, and the table makes that clear.
Published prices, side by side
| Software | Entry plan | Billed monthly | Billed yearly | Users included | Free trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tekmetric | Start | $199/mo | $179/mo | Unlimited | Demo only |
| AutoLeap | Essentials | $199/mo | $179/mo | 5 (basic plan) | Demo only |
| Shop Boss | Gold | $199/mo | $179/mo | Unlimited | Demo only |
| FastTrak | Emerald | $199/mo | — | Not stated | 30 days |
| R.O. Writer | Essentials | $199/mo (first year) | — | Unlimited | Demo only |
| Shopmonkey | Basic | $239/mo | $215/mo | 3 (+$20/mo each) | Demo only |
| Shop-Ware | Startup | $279/mo | $251/mo | Unlimited | Demo only |
| Mitchell 1 TeamWorks | 12-month lease | $348/mo | — | 1 (single user) | Demo only |
| Protractor | Core | $399/mo | $359/mo | Not stated | Demo only |
| Auto Shop Writer | Monthly rental | $195/mo ($495 first month) | — | Unlimited computers | Not stated |
| LANKAR | LANKAR | $99/mo | — | 1 (+$50/mo each) | Test drive, no signup |
| ALLDATA Shop Manager | Shop Manager | $99/mo + ALLDATA Repair | $1,188/yr | Not stated | Not stated |
| Torque360 | Starter | Not shown | $89.99/mo | 5 | Demo only |
| Auto Repair Boss | Essentials | $25/mo, or $500+ once | — | 1 computer | Download |
| NextCarHub (scheduling only) | Pro | $49/mo | — | Unlimited | 14 days, no card |
“Billed yearly” is the monthly rate when you pay for a year up front. “Demo only” means the vendor offers a sales demo but no self-serve free trial on its site.
What the prices show
- $199 is the going rate. Tekmetric, AutoLeap, Shop Boss, FastTrak and R.O. Writer all start at $199 a month.
- Paying yearly saves about 10%. Tekmetric, AutoLeap, Shop Boss, Shopmonkey, Shop-Ware and Protractor all knock roughly 10% off for annual billing.
- The big cloud platforms don’t offer free trials. Tekmetric, Shopmonkey, Shop-Ware, AutoLeap, Shop Boss, Protractor and R.O. Writer are all demo-led. The self-serve trials are on FastTrak, LANKAR, Auto Repair Boss and NextCarHub.
- User licences change the bill more than the plan does. Tekmetric, Shop Boss and Shop-Ware include unlimited users; Shopmonkey includes 3 and charges $20 a month for each extra; LANKAR includes 1 and charges $50 for each extra.
- One-time purchase is rare. Auto Repair Boss is the only tool here that publishes a one-time price (from $500). Auto Shop Writer and SHOPpro say a one-time or lifetime licence exists but don’t publish the price.
What a 5-person shop pays in the first year
Plan prices hide the real difference, which is how each vendor counts users and what it charges to get started. Here is the first-year cost for one shop with 5 people logging in, on each vendor’s entry plan, billed monthly. Only tools that publish both a price and their user rules are included.
| Software | How it’s worked out | First year |
|---|---|---|
| NextCarHub (scheduling only) | $49 × 12, unlimited users | $588 |
| Tekmetric Start | $199 × 12, unlimited users | $2,388 |
| Shop Boss Gold | $199 × 12, unlimited users | $2,388 + data transfer if needed ($399–$899) |
| R.O. Writer Essentials | $199 × 12 (first-year price), unlimited users | $2,388; later years not published |
| AutoLeap Essentials | $199 × 12, 5 users on the basic plan | $2,388 + setup fee (amount not published) |
| Shopmonkey Basic | ($239 + 2 extra users × $20) × 12, + $500 data migration | $3,848 |
| Shop-Ware Startup | $279 × 12, unlimited users | $3,348 + migration fees if any |
| LANKAR | ($99 + 4 extra users × $50) × 12 | $3,588 |
Pricing by vendor
Tekmetric pricing
Start $199/month, Grow $349 and Scale $439, or $179, $309 and $409 a month billed yearly. Enterprise is custom. Priced per shop with unlimited users. Add-ons: multi-shop +$70/month per shop, Tire Suite +$39, Marketing +$345. Demo only, no free trial; month-to-month or annual. Full Tekmetric pricing breakdown.
AutoLeap pricing
Essentials $199/month, Pro $349, Elite $449, or $179, $309 and $409 a month billed yearly. Enterprise is custom. AutoLeap’s FAQ says the basic plan includes 5 user accounts and extra users cost “an extra fee” (amount not published). There is a one-time setup fee whose amount isn’t published, and no free trial. The AutoLeap AIR AI receptionist is $99/month. Full AutoLeap pricing breakdown.
Shopmonkey pricing
Basic $239/month (3 user licences), Clever $399 (4), Genius $499 (5), or $215, $359 and $449 a month billed yearly. Extra users are $20/month each. Multi-Shop is custom. A one-time $500 data migration fee applies. Demo only. Full Shopmonkey pricing breakdown.
Shop-Ware pricing
Startup $279/month, Pro $389, Master $499, Ultimate+ $999, or $251, $350, $449 and $899 a month billed yearly. Priced per location with unlimited users on every plan; month-to-month, no annual contract required. The CRM + Online Service Scheduler add-on is $249/month. Demo only. Full Shop-Ware pricing breakdown.
Shop Boss pricing
Gold $199/month, Platinum $349, Premier $449, Premier Plus $649, or $179, $314, $404 and $584 a month on annual billing. Unlimited users on every package. CRM + Online Service Scheduler is $249/month ($224 annual). Data transfer costs $399 (customers and vehicles) or $899 (adds repair history and inventory). No free trial is offered on the pricing page; the call to action is a demo.
FastTrak Auto Shop Manager pricing
Emerald $199/month, Ruby $289, Diamond $369, plus sales tax. No contract and a free 30-day trial. Paying by credit card adds a 3.5% surcharge. Phone support is $37.50 per 15 minutes and email support $30 per email, unless your plan includes it (email on Ruby, phone on Diamond).
R.O. Writer pricing
R.O. Writer Essentials is $199/month and R.O. Writer (for high-volume and multi-location shops) $299/month, both labelled “for the first year”. What they cost after the first year isn’t published. Essentials includes unlimited users and dedicated onboarding. Demo only.
Mitchell 1 pricing (TeamWorks, ProDemand, Manager SE)
Mitchell 1 sells on 12-month leases with no activation fee. TeamWorks (ProDemand Repair, Estimator and the shop management program, single user) is $348/month. ProDemand Repair alone is $204/month and ProDemand Repair and Estimator $214/month. An additional Manager SE user is $15/month. The standalone Manager SE base licence price isn’t published. ProDemand is repair information, not shop management, so it’s often bought alongside another system.
Protractor pricing
Core $399/month, Performance $599, Prestige $1,099, Elite $1,299, or $359, $539, $989 and $1,169 a month billed yearly. Advanced Tools (CRM and Online Service Scheduler) is $249/month. Users included aren’t stated. Demo only. Prices apply to new customers and upgrades.
Auto Shop Writer pricing
Installed shop management rented at $195/month with all features, updates and support. The first month is $495, which includes remote installation. It runs on any number of computers; for more than two, the vendor recommends a $650 database server licence per 5 users. A one-time licence is mentioned, but its price isn’t published.
LANKAR (Lankar Pro) pricing
$99/month including one user licence, training and support; each additional user is $50/month. LANKAR says pricing may vary slightly by region. You can open an instant test drive without signing up.
ALLDATA Shop Manager pricing
Shop Manager is $99/month or $1,188/year, but it requires a separate ALLDATA Repair or ALLDATA Collision subscription, so it is not the full cost.
Torque360 pricing
Starter $89.99/month with 5 co-users and Turbo $179.99/month with unlimited co-users, both billed annually; month-to-month prices aren’t shown. Supercharged is quote-only. No setup fee. Add-ons: Payments Integration $499 and Appointment Scheduler $999 (the page doesn’t say whether these are one-time or recurring). Demo only.
Auto Repair Boss pricing (one-time purchase)
Installed Windows software that you can buy outright: Auto Repair Boss Jr. $500, Auto Repair Boss $750, Multi-User $1,000 (version 22.0), with optional accounting ($200) and payroll ($100) modules and paid yearly support ($150–$860). Or subscribe: Essentials $25/month, Pro $35/month (one computer each), Multi-User $45/month. A free trial version can be downloaded.
Tools that don’t publish a price
These come up in searches for pricing, but on October 14, 2026 their own websites gave no price. You’ll need to ask for a quote.
- Snap-on ShopKey Shop Management System — pricing through a Snap-on representative. (ShopKey Pro is Snap-on’s repair information product, sold separately.)
- Master Repair 8000 / 9000 — MR 8000 is now a legacy product that no longer receives updates. No prices for either; a free trial is offered by request.
- SHOPpro — sold as an annual or lifetime membership; prices by phone.
- AllSystemsMax — free trial; no price published.
- ShopView — aimed at heavy-duty, fleet and equipment repair; custom quotes and a free trial.
- AutoShop Controller, Repair Shop Director, Garage360 — we couldn’t read a price on the vendor’s own site, so we haven’t listed one.
Where NextCarHub fits
NextCarHub is $49 a month per shop with unlimited users and a 14-day trial that needs no card. It covers the shop calendar, technician scheduling, customers, vehicles and service history. It does not do repair orders, estimates, invoicing, parts or inspections, so it isn’t a replacement for the platforms above if you use those every day. It fits shops whose real problem is the schedule: double bookings, nobody able to see the day, and car history that lives in someone’s head. NextCarHub pricing.
Sources
All read on October 14, 2026: Tekmetric, AutoLeap, Shopmonkey, Shop-Ware, Shop Boss, FastTrak, R.O. Writer, Mitchell 1 store, Protractor, Auto Shop Writer, LANKAR, ALLDATA Shop Manager, Torque360, Auto Repair Boss. Vendor prices change, so check the current figure before you sign anything. If something here is out of date, email hello@nextcarhub.com and we’ll correct it.
Common questions
How much does auto repair shop software cost?
In October 2026, most auto repair shop management software costs $199 a month or more for one shop on month-to-month billing. Tekmetric, AutoLeap, Shop Boss, FastTrak and R.O. Writer start at $199, Shopmonkey at $239, Shop-Ware at $279 and Protractor at $399. Paying yearly usually saves about 10%.
What is the cheapest auto repair shop software?
Among tools that publish prices, Auto Repair Boss is the cheapest: a $25/month subscription or a one-time purchase from $500, for installed Windows software. Among cloud tools, LANKAR starts at $99/month for one user and Torque360 at $89.99/month billed yearly. NextCarHub is $49/month, but it covers scheduling and customer records only, not repair orders or invoicing.
Is there auto repair shop software with no monthly fee?
Yes, but few vendors publish it. Auto Repair Boss sells a one-time licence from $500 (version 22.0), with optional yearly support. Auto Shop Writer and SHOPpro mention one-time or lifetime licences but do not publish the price.
Which auto repair shop software has a free trial?
FastTrak offers a free 30-day trial, LANKAR an instant test drive without signup, Auto Repair Boss a downloadable trial version, and NextCarHub a 14-day trial with no card. Tekmetric, Shopmonkey, Shop-Ware, AutoLeap, Shop Boss, Protractor and R.O. Writer offer demos rather than free trials.
Is auto repair software priced per user or per shop?
It depends on the vendor. Tekmetric, Shop Boss, Shop-Ware and NextCarHub charge per shop or location with unlimited users. Shopmonkey includes 3 to 5 user licences per plan and charges $20 a month for each extra user; LANKAR includes one user and charges $50 a month for each extra.
Related guides
- Auto repair shop software compared, 2026
The main platforms side by side, and what each vendor leaves out. - What auto repair shop software really costs
Per-user vs per-shop pricing, and the fees that appear after you sign. - Tekmetric pricing
Start, Grow and Scale plans, add-ons and the yearly cost. - Shopmonkey pricing
Basic, Clever and Genius, user licences and the $500 migration fee. - AutoLeap pricing
Essentials, Pro and Elite, setup fee and add-ons. - Shop-Ware pricing
Per-location plans from $279/month with unlimited users. - Auto repair software for small shops
What a 1–3 bay shop actually needs, and what to skip. - Auto repair appointment scheduling guide
Capacity at 75–85%, no-shows, and jobs that grow mid-repair. - NextCarHub pricing
$49/month per shop, unlimited users, 14-day trial with no card.
See if it fits your shop
14 days free, no card required. Put a real week of work into it before deciding.